Teen Jayden Seales, who has only a person 1st-course match to his title, acquired his initially Check cap for West Indies

West Indies selected to bat vs South Africa

South Africa’s four-rate-and-solo-spin assault will get to start with use of the St Lucia surface immediately after Kraigg Brathwaite made a decision to bat initial in the two teams’ 1st meeting in the Caribbean for 11 many years. South Africa final toured West Indies in 2010 and none of the present squad ended up part of that team of gamers. That suggests all XI visitors will be making their first Examination visual appearance on the islands.
It is also a first for Dean Elgar, who normally takes demand of South Africa in whites, right after becoming appointed captain in the winter break. Elgar has led South Africa after in advance of, when Faf du Plessis was on paternity leave, at Lord’s in 2017. du Plessis is also no longer element of the staff and retired before this yr, creating way for Keegan Petersen, a leading-purchase batter from Durban via Bloemfontein and Paarl. Petersen’s initial cap was prepared in advance of the sequence but South Africa also experienced to make a last-minute adjustment to their XI just after vice-captain Temba Bavuma was ruled out of the match with a hip harm. Kyle Verreynne was given an possibility in his place.
West Indies also have a newcomer in their staff. Teenager Jayden Seales, who has only a person first-class match to his name, has been included in an assault that has Kemar Roach and Jason Holder but not Alzarri Joseph. West Indies opted for two spinners in Roston Chase and Rakheem Cornwall. In the line-up, Shai Hope has been recalled following very last playing in July very last year in opposition to England and will open the batting with his captain Brathwaite. That remaining no space for Kieran Powell, who was also back in the squad immediately after a time period of time on the sidelines.

West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), 2 Shai Hope, 3 Nkrumah Bonner, 4 Kyle Mayers, 5 Jermanine Blackwood, 6 Joshua da Silva (wk), 7 Jason Holder, 8 Roston Chase, 9 Rakheem Cornwall, 10 Kemar Roach, 11 Jayden Seales

South Africa: 1 Dean Elgar (capt), 2 Aiden Markram, 3 Keegan Petersen, 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 Kyle Verreynne, 6 Quinton de Kock (wk), 7 Wiaan Mulder, 8 Keshav Maharaj 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Lungi Ngidi

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

Resource hyperlink

Related Posts